PLEASE NOTE: If you had an account with the previous forum, it has been ported to the new Genetry website!
You will need to reset the password to access the new forum. Click Log In → Forgot Password → enter your username or forum email address → click Email Reset Link.

Notifications
Clear all

12000W LF AMG tripping input and output breakers

28 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
290 Views
(@dickson)
Noble Member
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 1043
 

As it appears that the inverter runs with nothing connected to it, the issue likely has to do with the way the inverter is connected to the breaker panel and/or possible ground-neutral bonding problems.

The  rev 11.3 control board is working   frrom  your video  and  you measure  114vac  from  L2  to  G  .      Do not use the  AC 110  INPUT  for charging  .         The  yellow ground  is like on my  control board  and  the  N  and the  L1  to your control board is correct like mine .     I  do not have charger  connected   so can not tell if your  charger  wiring is correct .      Connect  direct to L1   N  should work  and connect direct  to   L2  N  should work without  breaker panel .    


   
ReplyQuote
(@dickson)
Noble Member
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 1043
 

surprisingly the single receptacle wired as L1 +L2 and chassis ground working  without tripping the breakers.

NOT  surprising  because the recptacle  bypass  all wiring to the charger  board  .      Receptacle  L2  is direct  to the transformer  and L1  is from control board  and transformer .     Transformer  wiring is correct and  control board  is working   with  3 LED on green steady .     


   
ReplyQuote
(@lener)
Trusted Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 40
Topic starter  

Lots of great informations , thank you. I will be using this unit as lone inverter using a charge controller for my batteries.

Thanks again 

 

 


   
ReplyQuote
(@notmario)
Reputable Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 311
 

Shame, that AMG looks exactly like mine. Never had a lick of issues with it aside from less-than-stellar voltage regulation.

Honestly it sounds like something is wrong with how it's wired to the panel. Have you tried unwiring it from everything except your DC bus and just testing the AC receptacle?
Skip the ground and try some light loads, then some heavier ones if that works.


   
ReplyQuote
(@lener)
Trusted Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 40
Topic starter  

NotMario,

I myself thought the issue was related to ground as well, after testing the theory the results  unchanged. Using the same exact household load  setting in use for the single AC receptacle “ currently  working fine “ but  ( sparks from hardwired blocks )  I give up trying on this……

Note ….now I have tried this with caution , power conditioning and surge protection completely away from the house and the sub panel from my other system I am able to power some appliances but those protections indicated ground fault.

by the way is it normal for the ongoing humming with or without load or AC input?

 

 

<a href="/monthly_2022_12/CF4422F4-71D3-495A-81C4-402692BB2669.jpeg.ccf41e70c27c3261909bf54b17f90caf.jpeg" class="ipsAttachLink ipsAttachLink_image" ><img data-fileid="2003" src="//forums.genetrysolar.com/applications/core/interface/js/spacer.png" data-src="/monthly_2022_12/CF4422F4-71D3-495A-81C4-402692BB2669.thumb.jpeg.4e75996e10d22d9db694d94149965397.jpeg" data-ratio="133.45" width="562" class="ipsImage ipsImage_thumbnailed" alt="CF4422F4-71D3-495A-81C4-402692BB2669.jpeg">


   
ReplyQuote
(@sid-genetry-solar)
Member Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2877
 
Posted by: @lener
by the way is it normal for the ongoing humming with or without load or AC input?

It's a PJ...so yes, a constant hum from the transformer is normal.  (A GS inverter will be practically dead silent at no load as a result of the perfectly matched FET drive.)

No load current on the DC side should be at or under 1A if you have some way of measuring that.  (Clamp meters that can measure DC current are invaluable in any sort of off-grid system!  FWIW most cheap clamp meters can only measure AC current.)


   
ReplyQuote
(@sid-genetry-solar)
Member Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2877
 
Posted by: @lener
I myself thought the issue was related to ground as well, after testing the theory the results unchanged. Using the same exact household load setting in use for the single AC receptacle “ currently working fine “ but ( sparks from hardwired blocks ) I give up trying on this……

We've already kinda established that grounding is messed up.

If you ignore inverter chassis ground, and only connect the Line and Neutral lines, you should not have any problems.


   
ReplyQuote
(@sid-genetry-solar)
Member Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2877
 

Of course if the wires are swapped, trying to connect this inverter to a breaker panel will result in sparks and tripped breakers--because of ground-neutral bonding.  It's highly likely that due to the not-isolated-ground problem, you're shorting the inverter out with a breaker panel--which will bond ground and neutral together.  Betcha "inverter case ground" is shorted to the AC output line you're considering "hot"--so shorting "ground" and "neutral" together deadshorts the output of the inverter.


   
ReplyQuote
(@lener)
Trusted Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 40
Topic starter  

A GS inverter will be practically dead silent at no load as a result of the perfectly matched FET drive.)
Are these FET drive compatible with PJ 12000 AGM?


   
ReplyQuote
(@lener)
Trusted Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 40
Topic starter  

A month of  sleepless nights trying to understand the mystery , although I called it uncle…. this AM before hitting the road I was at it 
I took off the ground completely out of the unit to my disappointment result  was not changes, but I discovered something interesting that the AC input L has continuity with the chassis, I do not know all fundamentals about electricity but I repair equipment., Am I wrong to say those input wires (L with chassis continuity N  no continuity )are crossed? 

 


   
ReplyQuote
(@sid-genetry-solar)
Member Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2877
 
Posted by: @lener
A GS inverter will be practically dead silent at no load as a result of the perfectly matched FET drive.) Are these FET drive compatible with PJ 12000 AGM?

GS control boards only have a single FET board output connector, not a double like PJ does.  In addition, the PJ FET boards would need either modified with the addition of a zener diode to each one (to prevent FET failure due to the stronger drive) and/or outright replacement with a set of GS LegacyFET boards (best case).

Due to the design limitations of a PJ mainboard, you would not be able to exceed much over 6kw output with a GS setup.  But there's also no way the "12000W AGM" transformer will be able to do 6kw continuous in the first place.


   
ReplyQuote
(@sid-genetry-solar)
Member Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2877
 
Posted by: @lener
A month of sleepless nights trying to understand the mystery , although I called it uncle…. this AM before hitting the road I was at it I took off the ground completely out of the unit to my disappointment result was not changes, but I discovered something interesting that the AC input L has continuity with the chassis, I do not know all fundamentals about electricity but I repair equipment., Am I wrong to say those input wires (L with chassis continuity N no continuity )are crossed?

You might have honed in on at least one of the issues 😉.

None of the AC input or output leads (nor the DC input leads) on the inverter should be short-circuited to the chassis.

The lowest connection between any terminal and the chassis should be >1 Megohm.


   
ReplyQuote
(@lener)
Trusted Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 40
Topic starter  

I  am not sure if this is an isolated incident, I have had a lot of issues  tripping breakers  blew up Fetts and  so on with  my 12000 watt AGM, after taking the unit apart many times tracing wiring , I discovered some of the  wires were crossed (output) after fixing  these issues the machine has been working for quite awhile without any problem crossing my fingers. Unfortunately there’s no manual for reference..!I been running the living room area TV and satellite devices and a small deep “freezer  at night “with a power transfer of course I don’t want to peeve my queen  when she is watching TV.

image.jpg


   
ReplyQuote
Page 2 / 2