PLEASE NOTE: If you had an account with the previous forum, it has been ported to the new Genetry website!
You will need to reset the password to access the new forum. Click Log In → Forgot Password → enter your username or forum email address → click Email Reset Link.

Notifications
Clear all

!!!! HORRIBLE / QUESTIONABLE BUILD QUALITY !!! (photos)

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bigjoncoop)
Topic starter  

Just purchased a 6000w LF-PSW Powerjack / U-Power inverter and decided to open it up to make sure there was no broken wires, loose connections, etc...

WELL I'M GLAD I DID!!!

I had purchased the same exact inverter maybe 5 years ago and that unit did not have these same issues... I'm curious if these things were done in the factory or maybe by the eBay seller I purchased it from. The seller on eBay has tons of power jack gear for sale and is from the USA...

(Fyi- I'm rather knowledgeable when it comes to electronics / PCB's, etc... I've been a hobbyist / enthusiast for 30+ years and offer electronic repair as a side business to make extra money. I've also been an electrician for 25+ years) 

*** HERE COMES THE GOOD STUFF (well not so good) ****

Image 1 & 2: there's nothing wrong necessarily with using a ton of silicone adhesive in order to hold components in place during shipping, but holy crap!!! 😜

Image 3 / WTF #1: now this is by far one of the WORST bodge jobs I've seen before on a consumer product!!!  They have two trim pots directly soldered to pins on a plug header with no support just flopping in the breeze! You would think they could have spared some of that silicone adhesive they got all over everything and put some around there bodge job, to at least give it a little bit of support! 🙄. The fact that they're using some trim pots as an afterthought to make minor adjustments, is fine in my opinion. What is outrageous is how they have them connected!