PLEASE NOTE: If you had an account with the previous forum, it has been ported to the new Genetry website!
You will need to reset the password to access the new forum. Click Log In → Forgot Password → enter your username or forum email address → click Email Reset Link.

Notifications
Clear all

3kw inverter

22 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
 denn
(@denn)
Topic starter  

im a beginner and have yet to discover how to calculate surge.  in building my system i need to know if the 3kw 24vly dc to 220ac would start two 3/4hp 1495 watt 6.5 amp well pumps.  i am building a system using 9 355 watt panels and intend two use 2 s340 on 4 pannels and the 3kw on 4 more, leaving one to go with expansion.  thanks

(@sid-genetry-solar)
Member Admin

Well, off the top...depends on what inverter you're referring to.  It's not clear, as I cannot find anything by searching what you've provided ("24lvy").

If you're looking at the MakeSkyBlue 3KVA-24-230 ( https://makeskyblue.com/products/3kva-hybrid-mppt-solar-inverter-24v-dc-to-230v-ac ) then the answer is more than likely "definitely not."  I am taking a wild guess that it is the inverter you're referring to, simply because you mention "3kw" and the fact that you posted in the MakeSkyBlue subforum.

IF IT IS THE INVERTER you're referring to...

There is a big difference between power measured as VA (volt amps) and W (watts).  Manufacturers like to use VA to rate their inverters, as it makes the number look better--but then you get caught with an inverter that won't do what you need.

The above link rates the inverter at "3000VA/2400W."  In other words, the inverter cannot sustain the running power of both pumps (3000W).

And HF inverters (which the MSB is) are at best very poor at handling surges.  Most cheaper units (i.e. Chinese-made) are horrible at handling surge loads.